Resetting Sync databse within SharePoint

Resetting Sync database will delete the database completely with all the values in it.
I think one should reset the sync database as the last thing when all troubleshooting tricks provide no result. Only consider resetting when: 
  • Your import user profile connection is fetching details from AD but they cannot be seen on SharePoint
  • Similar scenario with export connections, so you want to push changes back to AD but you don’t see any changes on AD
  • You have modified settings on your FIM Client manually 

Here is a very nice article on resetting the sync database you should follow before considering a  reset:
PS: The User related information such as Profile Pictures, About Me etc. resides in Profile DB and the Social DB, these information will be safe as you do a reset of your Sync database
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s