Converting InfoPath data connections to UDCX files

While working with InfoPath 2013 and SharePoint 2013 on a Windows 2012 platform, I came across an issue where I was not able to convert the InfoPath data connections into UDCX files. I was getting the error below:

The specified location does not exist or could not be opened. Choose a data connection library on a server running Microsoft SharePoint Server and specify a valid filename.


After some read through, I found out that for this to be able to work, I would need a Windows feature installed on the server. This feature is Desktop Experience. Once I enabled this from the Server Manager, and restarted the server, I got rid of this error. Files were then getting converted to UDCX and were published to the Data Connection library.



Hope this helps someone.
2 thoughts on “Converting InfoPath data connections to UDCX files

  1. Thanks for you post, I am getting the same error and did what you recommend but still getting the same error!! any other recommendations! thanks!

Leave a Reply

